Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 The Opportunist Shiraz Langhorne Creek South Australia
Review Date: 01-16-2018
This is a different take on Aussie Shiraz than most of our customers are used to as it comes from Langhorne Creek in South Australia. The cooling maritime influence this region possesses give this wine a lighter, slightly more saline/mineral-driven style instead of a deep, rich, supple one. There is still plenty of fruit here to showcase the varietal, but it's presented in a different way than from a region such as the Barossa. If you've been avoiding Shiraz from Oz because you think it's too fat or high in alcohol, or if you just want to taste a good, interesting Shiraz, this wine should be your next buy.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-16-2018
The top scores across every publication are well deserved given the incredible complexity and quality of this wine. While it is showing a little tight and structured now, it most definitely has the capacity to age beautifully. The smaller yields of 2015 give this wine great concentration and definite black pepper spice at this stage in its life. It is lean and bright and a little grippy, but will open up, show its fruit, soften its tannins and will become an absolutely phenomenal wine in a few years time. The cool New Zealand climate has done its work here and given us a wine with depth and intricacy. One of the stand-outs from Hawke's Bay and any lover of past vintages should jump on this one as well.

2015 Carrick Sauvignon Blanc Bannockburn Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 01-09-2018
I'm always amazed when I taste the Carrick wines that they can be priced so incredibly low given their undeniably phenomenal quality. Everything that would make this an expensive wine - organic farming, hand picking, barrel fermenting are applied here and yet the price does not reflect these insane labors. Francis Hutt is without doubt one of the best winemakers in New Zealand and his farming and cellar skills are evident in this wine. Carrick is an underrated label and I wish I could put it in as many hands as possible. This wine is layered and complex, mineral driven, bright, juicy, and insanely delicious. One of the best white values in the store by far.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ribbonwood (Framingham) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 01-06-2018
Any fans of the Framingham wines should stock up on these beauties at an everyday price for a Sauvignon Blanc that's a definite crowd-pleaser. Juicy, bright, fresh, and just plain delicious. I picked up a bottle last night to refresh myself on this wine and before I knew it, half the bottle was gone, it was so easy-drinking and light on the palate. Crisp and mineraly, this is quintessential NZ Savvy without the overly present vegetal qualities. One of my new favorites on the shelf and made by such a great winemaking team, I'm happy to pick up this wine for any occasion.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 01-02-2018
What a great deal on this unconventional combo of varieties. This is a fantastic wine for both food pairing and even drinking on its own. It carries some acid, which will highlight any food its paired with, but not so much it becomes too harsh to cease being a cocktail wine. Great fruit and just a hint of structure, without being overly tannic or tight. More interesting than most wines of this price point, the concentration is ideal here and a top value for an everyday dinner red.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2007 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 01-02-2018
What an incredible deal on this wine and producer when you consider the 2009 vintage of the same wine costs $200 more. While not the most lauded vintage, this wine is still absolutely incredible. It has a great balance of fruit and savoriness, good concentration, and some quintessential Bordeaux minerality to back it all up. The biodynamic practices exhibited by this winery may make vintage more difficult, but have improved the wine quality beyond bounds. This is a great deal and a standout from the 2007 vintage, not to be missed.
Top Value!

2012 Streicker "Bridgeland Block" Syrah Margaret River
Review Date: 12-30-2017
You don't often see Syrah coming out of Margaret River, as it is often regarded as Cab Sauv and Chardonnay territory. With incredible flavors like these though, I wish more people in the area were making it. There is a leanness and brightness here that can sometimes get lost in the warmer Aussie areas and a great mineral character from the soils here. I love the spice notes and thee pure fruit quality. This is one I will keep in my rotation.
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2012 Streicker "Ironstone Block" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 12-30-2017
While I thought all of the Streicker wines I tried were fantastic, this is the one I kept coming back to over and over again. Leaner and more mineral driven than most Cabernets, this went perfectly with my steak dinner as the fruit didn't overwhelm the meal. You can taste the terroir in this one, which is a testament to very little manipulation by the winemakers. A great find in Margaret River Cab, this is a break from the ordinary into the extraordinary. Truly delicious.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96

2014 Clairault Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (White Label)
Review Date: 12-30-2017
If you are looking for an affordable, quintessentially Margaret River Cab Sauv, look no further than this guy. It shows the classic hints of stemmy, woodsiness many of the Cabs from this area carry, and that is a great thing. These are unique wines and an incredible value from a well-loved estate. Still tasting pretty young, I believe this one to have great aging potential. Well deserved of its 94 point score, Clairault Cabs should be on you radar if they are not already.

2012 Clairault "Estate" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River (Black Label)
Review Date: 12-30-2017
The older vine age of the grapes used in this wine are really showcased here with the richness and concentration of fruit in this Cab. It's not hard to see why this is a top wine for Clairault and the high scores are well deserved on this one. This is truly a "wow" wine with great backbone and length and the softness of deep fruit and slight French oak influence to complement it. The few years of age it has already seen make it delicious now and the price point makes it within the reach of every Cab lover.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
DC 95 JH 95

2011 Viña Real Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-05-2017
If I could pick the perfect food wine, this one would be pretty much there. An incredible blend of fruit and savory notes lead this bottling to enhance almost anything you choose to pair it with. There is good base structure that is overlayed with deep fruits and slight minerality, which definitely makes this wine approachable now.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 W&S 92

2016 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 12-01-2017
Torbreck does it again with a crowd-pleasing Shiraz that brilliantly showcases Barossa fruit. While this is a rich, full-fruited wine, it manages not to cross over the line into too fat or flabby. This is a delicious, soft, easy drinking red, and a great old school example of what people expect out of Barossa Shiraz.
Price: $18.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2013 Kay Brothers "Hillside" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 11-13-2017
This is the very definition of a classic Shiraz from one of the most well-respected and oldest producers in McLaren Vale. It has a rugged, yet polished feel to it, clearly letting the land the grapes were grown in shine through. The centuries of practice this winery has had to perfect it's Shiraz have clearly paid off with a wine that showcases the best the varietal has to offer. Rich, but not fat, earthy, but not harsh, this is the epitome of balance and a beautiful example of what happens when McLaren Vale fruit and years of winemaking experience meet up.

2015 Shaw + Smith "M3" Chardonnay Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-30-2017
The two man team behind the Shaw & Smith wines have really come onto something great in their winemaking style. This Chardonnay comes from coastal vineyards and the cooler site is really reflected in the bright, high acidity present. That acidity is not overwhelming however, thanks to the aging on lees in French oak. This gives some good weight to the wine and draws out the fruit characters as well. I'm loving this producer now and if you're a fan of Chablis, this is right up your alley.

2015 Shaw + Smith Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-30-2017
This is a very elegant Pinot Noir from a higher elevation site. Its location gives it lifted, bright acidity and a strong spicy quality. Sweet, soft fruit complements the acid and spice and they all feel perfectly in balance. This really is phenomenal Pinot Noir, more similar to Burgundy than California. Would be a fantastic dinner or gift bottle.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 JS 95

2014 Shaw + Smith Shiraz Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Grown on a high elevation in Adelaide Hills, this Shiraz is nothing like one you would find in Barossa. It's leaner, higher acid, bright, with juicy, but not big or flabby fruit. If you are hesitant to try Aussie Shiraz because you think they might be too jammy, this is THE ONE you want to get your hands on.A winner and a great food or cocktail wine.

2016 Shaw + Smith Sauvignon Blanc Adelaide Hills
Review Date: 09-26-2017
Grown in a high elevation vineyard in the Adelaide Hills, this Savvy definitely highlights the cooler climate with bright acidity and zippy citrus fruits. This is not your typical Sauvignon Blanc from Australia and not one you will find by many other producers in Oz. This is more akin the Sancerre than to other whites in the same area. It’s expressive, vivid, and juicy. A great choice if you’re looking for something different or are new to Adelaide Hills.

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This bottle of Champagne defines balance for me. I think it is the perfect blend of fruit and acidity, while still showing depth and richness from the Pinot Noir. I think this is an incredible value and is the absolute perfect choice for an occasion, not only because of the great price-point, but because it exhibits qualities that could please even the most discerning palate. This is my new house sparkling for sure.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2010 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-02-2017
All of the elements you would expect in a complex and pricey bottle of Champagne come in this wine at a truly unbelievable price. A vintage Champagne that is fully aged in oak barrels from such a well-respected producer almost always costs twice this much. This vintage of Brison is made by a phenomenal female winemaker, Delphine Brulez, with an extensive background in both the science and art of great Champagne making and it really is a labor of love for her. A wonderful balance of soft fruit and richness without being heavy, this wine is drinking fantastically now. The Pinot Noir adds a great depth and the Chardonnay keeps it bright and energetic. A great choice for the hot days of Summer, but will also lead you right through the Fall.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 J. Bouchon "Canto Sur" Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-21-2017
Red fruits really dominate this wine, making it a super fun, approachable red blend that's just rockin' for Summer and rolling into Fall. Juicy bright fruit and a medium weighted palate are showcased and the flavors are really expressive and punchy. This is certainly an easy-drinking, but not over-simplified, wine which would be as fun to drink with food as it is on its own. I will definitely be happy to drink this one any night of the week.
Top Value!

2016 Arboleda Sauvignon Blanc Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This Savvy is extremely expressive with the fruit and bright acidity punching right out of the gate. I loved the tropicality of it and the minerality lended to it by its coastal clime. The fruit is juicy, energetic and fierce and the mouthfeel is full thanks to its time in both stainless steel and French barrique. This is a fun and lively Sauvignon Blanc and an absolutely perfect Summer wine.
Top Value!

Arette Artesanal Blanco Suave Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2017
This tequila really showcases the pure, bright flavors that agave is known for when not muddled by added sugars or over-manipulation. With a lighter finish than many of the other tequilas on the shelf , this Arette Suave Blanco lends itself to sipping on its own quite nicely, without being overwhelmed by alcohol. Though I find it would do equally well in a cocktail since its lighter style can help it blend seamlessly with other elements without being an overpowering presence. The Arette is back in stock, but with its ability to appeal to such diverse tastes, it is sure to be gone again soon.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2014 Pahlmeyer Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 08-11-2017
This is what a perfect Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend is supposed to taste like and Pahlmeyer has become my benchmark against which I measure all others. There is incredible depth and complexity in this wine, while being simultaneously velvety and soft. Most importantly, this wine is just incredibly delicious, balancing strength and elegance and present, but not jammy fruit. A phenomenal wine that I would feel privileged to drink again and I think people will find this vintage turned out much better than some expected.

2014 Woodlands "Margaret Reserve" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-06-2017
Wilyabrup Valley is essentially the Rutherford Valley of Australia, i.e. it's one of the highest end sites in the region, and this wine definitely lives up to the region's reputation. This is a powerful, but refined Cabernet with plenty of fruit character. Margaret River can at times produce wines that are too woodsy and vegetal, but Woodlands hits the nail on the head by pruning the vines correctly and picking at just the right time. Margaret River wineries are well on their way to perfecting their Cabernets and the "Margaret" from Woodlands certainly deserves the high scores and praise it has gotten. Absolutely delicious wine!
Top Value!

2013 Leeuwin Estate "Art Series" Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-02-2017
The reviews on this wine are phenomenal and for good reason. This Chardonnay from one our our top Aussie producers is energetic and dynamic, while remaining elegant and refined. The price on this Chard is lower than you'll find anywhere else and I will be taking advantage and picking up some of it for gifts and elegant dinner parties. It shows fantastic balance and nuance of flavors, with just a touch of oak and brioche flavors complimenting the stone fruit. Even if you are not familiar with the Leeuwin label, I encourage you to give it a try and don't think you'll be surprised that it stands up to any high end Chardonnay from California or Burgundy.

2014 Man O' War Bordeaux Blend Waiheke Island New Zealand
Review Date: 07-25-2017
It's awesome to see a wine from Waiheke Island stateside, especially at this price as they are often much higher, simply due to the cost of getting them over here. This is a smooth, soft, deep-fruited red blend that would pair greatly with a steak dinner. I love that it has some soft tannin and juicy acidity to give it structure and brightness, but overall it's silky and perfect for different kinds of red lovers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
BC 95

2012 Tour Léognan, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 07-22-2017
I was very happy when I found myself lucky enough to be handed a bottle of this wine to try. It shows a good amount of soft fruit and the tannins are present, but not overwhelming or harsh. I found it to be very approachable now, which is not always the case with Bordeaux only 5 years old. It has many of the Cabernet characters I look for and I would definitely turn to it for a steak dinner any night of the week, especially at this price point.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tohu Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley Marlborough
Review Date: 07-21-2017
I picked up a bottle of this and had it over the weekend and it was the perfect choice for the warm California summer we have been having. It was incredibly bright and fresh and had super juicy tropical fruits. The minerality and acidity really brought it to life and the bursting fruit quality smoothed it out and made it incredibly easy drinking. It's a smashable wine, but also a very interesting one at the same time. A great NZ Savvy, perfect for warm summer nights. Loved it!
Top Value!

2015 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Along with the Penley Shiraz we carry, I was blown away when I saw the price on this wine. This is an absolutely delicious Cab from an old school producer and one I would be happy to present at any event, especially at this price point. It's deep and the Cab Sauv woodsy qualities shine though without overwhelming the fruit. I found it layered and interesting and was super excited to see this as the entry level wine for such a well respected producer. If this is how good their least expensive wines are, I can't wait to see the higher tier bottlings.
Top Value!

2015 Penley Estate "Atlas" Shiraz Coonawarra
Review Date: 07-10-2017
I was shocked after tasting this wine when I saw what it was priced at. I think this is an unbelievable deal for what I consider to be one of the better Shiraz's I've had this year. There is a lot of complexity in this wine and it hits all the elements I look for in a Shiraz. I appreciate the weight, but at the same time it's not overly ripe or flabby as some warm climate Shiraz's can be. The bottom line is, it is utterly delicious and something I'd be happy to pick up for any crowd.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Yalumba "Triangle Block" Shiraz-Viognier Eden Valley South Australia
Review Date: 06-30-2017
This is an incredibly unique take on Shiraz from Yalumba. This winery has knocked it out of the park with a wine that is mineral driven and more elegant than many Barossa Shiraz's. This wine exhibits the richness that Shiraz in Oz is known to possess, though it manages to do it without any of the overly ripe flabby character. I was pretty blown away by the price on this guy given the value I think it brings to Aussie Shiraz. If you are unfamiliar with Eden Valley, this is the perfect, affordable wine to bring you into the fold.
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 93 VN 90

2013 Tahbilk Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Nagambie Lakes Victoria
Review Date: 06-26-2017
I cannot stress enough the incredible value I think this Cab is for the price it is listed at. It is a legit Cab Sauv with soft oak notes and rich fruit. The tannins are subtle, but the complexity is there, detailing the experienced winemaking, as this is a hard balance to hit. This Cab tastes as though it has aged for years as it holds the complexity I look for with the softness of long-lasting wine. This producer should be on your radar if it's not already.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 94 WS 90

2014 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-26-2017
The incredible scores this Pinot Noir has received are well deserved in a wine such as this. This Pinot is incredibly soft and supple and is sure to be a favorite of any Pinot lover. It is velvety in mouthfeel with deep fruit and a slight woodsy character. It has a well-balanced nature and a long lasting mouthfeel. I truly feel this wine would please most palates with its approachable yet sophisticated style.

2016 Domaine de Rimauresq Côtes de Provence Cru Classé Rosé
Review Date: 06-13-2017
Absolutely lovely Provencal Rose that will be perfect for almost any occasion this Summer. It is bright and high acid, while still showcasing brilliant fruit and minerality. A good balanced, lighter style wine that stands out apart from many of the other Provence Roses out there.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 90

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is a great find right now as very few stores have this wine available for purchase. This Champagne is made from all estate fruit and is fully barrel fermented. The vintage was a unique one, with early bud break, but luckily no frost, though it was cold and wet. Harvest came early though in August, but acidity levels remained high, which has allowed this wine to age beautifully over the last 10 years. It's still showy pretty racy, though it now has some good richness. This would be a great one to pick up and see how it develops over the next 10 years. An absolutely fabulous offering from Bollinger.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
I find this to be one of the most interesting Champagnes we have on the shelves right now because of how many different notes and tastes it possesses. While Bollinger is one of the larger houses in Champagne, they are absolutely one of the best. The amount of care and work they put into their Champagne is unreal and the dedication to quality is beyond almost all others. The average age of the wine in this bottle is ten years old and one third of it is barrel fermented, which is far less common in Champagne. Topping wine in this house is kept in magnum bottles, separated by cru and vintage, which means they have to pop every single one when it comes time to add dosage to the bottles. This painstaking work results in an unbelievable wine and one I would be happy to have anytime.

2008 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
Vintage Champagne can be difficult to come across as it accounts for less than 5% of production, so when you find a vintage bottling this delicious, that makes it all the more special. K&L Champagne buyer Gary Westby introduced me to Baron Fuente and it was a light bulb moment in how complex and interesting vintage Champagnes can be. This bottling is a unique blend of estate fruit (which is rare for a house this size) made of 45% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Meunier, and 15% Pinot Noir. This is a delicious balance and a great value for a vintage Champagne.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This is a rare example of a Champagne that can appeal to any person and style of Champagne drinker. This bottling is made from all estate fruit, with a slightly higher percentage of Chardonnay (60% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Noir) and spends four years sur lees. All of these elements together, from the higher acidity of the Chardonnay, to the richness and heavier mouthfeel of the lees aging add up to create an extremely well-balanced Champagne. Charles Ellner is a great producer that should be on everyone's radar, whether new to Champagne, or an old pro.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne exhibits the very highest end of production from one of the great Champagne houses. It is literally the best parts of their production from the 1997, 1999, and 2002 vintages. The aromatics in this bottle are some of the most expressive I have ever come across in any Champagne and the 50/50 balance of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir give it incredible balance and roundness. A special bottle and a wonderful alternative to other tete de cuvees on the market.

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
The "La Cuvee" is one phenomenal release from well-known and highly regarded Champagne producer Laurent Perrier. Aged three and a half years on the lees, this wine exhibits the dedication LP shows to the quality of their Champagne. They have chosen to hold this wine back until it is perfected, rather than release it before it has had time to fully develop, even if that means potential years of lost income. The bottling exhibits a juiciness and fuller body than their "Brut" sparkler, but is still bright and lively from the acid-driven Chardonnay. While many Champagne houses believe great wine is made in the cellar, not the vineyard, LP shows a dedicated respect to the fruit in their bottlings, with the Chardonnay in "La Cuvee" being of exceptional quality. This is a special bottle that is still incredibly affordable and available for everyone to enjoy.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne offers quite an amazing value for the price when you consider the value of the Chardonnay that goes into this bottling. This is a great choice for one of the big-name Champagnes as a lot of care and work goes into producing this wine. This guy spends three years on the less, which is not required for a non-vintage Champagne and just furthers shows the dedication of LV to producing great Champagne.

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This bottling presents an amazing steeliness and edge for being composed of wine from the 1999 and 2002 vintages and having been aging in the bottle for as long as it has. Combine this with a barrel fermentation, when Fallet-Dart uses stainless steel on the rest of their sparklings, and you've got a wine that absolutely defied my expectations in a really good way. The Chardonnay in this bottling comes from their Clos du Mont vineyard, which is prized as some of the best fruit in the village and it truly shows through here. An amazingly balanced bottle of Champagne, that not only tastes incredible, but is crafted with years of diligence and care over value for high production.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Grande Sélection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
This Champagne hits all of the elements for me that I expect in a great sparkling and is one of the most well balanced I have ever come across, which is incredibly rare at this price. Fallet-Dart is situated in the far western, slightly lesser-known village of Drachy and this wine benefits from being made from only fruit grown on the estate. With up to seven years aging on the lees, this Champagne exhibits fantastic body and depth and the Pinot Noir heavy blend really showcases that varietal. The Chardonnay brings brightness and acidity and rounds of the palate fantastically. Definitely my favorite Fallet-Dart and at this price can be one approachable for any Champagne lover.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2017
The Fallet-Dart house has a mind blowing history with 17 generations behind the line to perfect their Champagne and perfect it they have. With majority Pinot Meunier and four years of aging sur lees this bottle shows a richer, toastier style while still showcasing brightness and freshness hard to achieve with this blend. I love that Fallet-Dart is not afraid to experiment with a Pinot Meunier heavy blend, though it is not by chance it turned out phenomenally with the clear dedication and hard work in the craft they put in year after year.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
Review Date: 06-02-2017
This is a rockin' Bordeaux Blend for the incredible sub-$20 price point and an incredible steal given the scores on this guy! Hawke's Bay is absolutely killing it with the Bordeaux reds they are putting out right now and Trinity Hill is one I will go back to easily time and time again because of their consistently phenomenal wines. This blend is structured, yet approachable, with deep fruits and a subtle earthiness. Wonderful any night of the week, no need to hold this one for a special occasion, though it would be welcome there as well.

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-06-2017
This is an incredible value for a vintage Champagne that comes with so much complexity and aging potential. Right now this wine is zippy, mineral driven, and bright, with rich undertones and steely drive. In a few years I image the vivid acidity will mellow and the wine will become softer and even more complex while still exhibiting freshness. 2008 is proving itself to be one of the most interesting Champagne vintages in a while and at this price, I will be picking up a few bottles, both to drink now and to hold onto. Can't wait to see what this wine will exhibit in a few years!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 04-22-2017
It's easy to see why the Torbreck winery has stood the test of time with wines like these. Definitely crowd-pleasing and a good representation of the popular style of Shiraz coming out of the Barossa. This wine is not shy with its fruit and depth and has some structure and spice that play up those qualities nicely. If you are looking for a light bodied, lean-style wine, this is definitely not for you. It is unabashedly big, but seems to represent that style very well. A great BBQ wine and something many tastes will enjoy.

2016 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 04-19-2017
A truly delicious Riesling that possesses a near perfect blend of juicy sweetness and crisp acidity. It is fresh and zesty and incredibly easy to drink thanks to the later harvest pick that adds character, depth, and a higher residual sugar. Andrew Hedley is the master of Riesling in New Zealand, making wines ranging from bone dry to dessert, and this sweet spot right in the middle is my absolute favorite. This is one I'd be happy to have any night of the week all year round.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
BC 97

2015 John Duval "Annexus" Old Vine Grenache Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 04-19-2017
What a unique and fascinating wine we are fortunate to be able to provide to customers. This old vine Grenache come from a mix of 130 and 80 year old vines, and the character of those years really shines through in this wine. It is complex, lifted yet concentrated, delicate, and has an absolutely elegant finish. Rich red fruits mingle with spice and and underlying acidity to produce one of the most engaging wines in the store. If you are looking for a wine that is both captivating and incredibly delicious, this should be your first choice.

2015 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Red Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 04-19-2017
This is a killer BBQ wine and should not only be at all of your Summer parties all season long, but can take you into Fall and Winter as well thanks to the deep, slightly spicy fruits. Even though Hawke's Bay is one pf the warmer appellations of New Zealand, it is still quite cool, thanks to its very southerly position on the globe. This ensures that all of its wines retain a good amount of acidity, which means you can produce a killer red blend like this at only 13.5% alcohol. The red shows great structure, but is not heavy or flabby thanks to that preserved acidity. The different characters from the 3 vineyards play epically into this and give great depth and character. This is definitely something I will be drinking over the months to come.

Page: 1 2 next